How to reduce remediation in Colorado

According to The Denver Post, nearly 29 percent of Colorado’s 2010 high school graduates needed one or more remedial course in college.

A group of education thinkers are coming together to find ways to cut back that rate.

Donnell-Kay’s Kim Knous-Dolan (left) joined the new Educational Success Task Force this week. She was nominated for the position, and see below for a complete list of participants.

The task force will identify critical transition points in a student’s school-going career, look at data and research on services that are proven to help reduce remediation, and review the practice of social promotion.

The group, which met this week for the first of many times, was formed by legislation last year: SB11-111, the law creating the Educational Success Task Force.

Here’s video of Senator Keith King presenting the bill.

Full list of Educational Success Task Force Nominees:
Sharon Kallus; Elementary Principal, Mesa 51 School District
Dr. Deanna Sands; Interim Dean, School of Education and Human Development, University of Colorado Denver
Dr. Judy Skupa; Deputy Superintendent, Thompson Valley School District
Nancy Steele; Colorado Response to Intervention Committee
Charlotte Brantley; Clayton Early Learning Center, President and CEO
Michelle Pearson; Current Colorado Teacher of the Year
Carrie Heaney; Teacher and recipient of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, Cherry Creek School District
Steven Grasmick; Superintendent, Fowler
Tamara Durbin; Member of the State Special Education Advisory Committee, Special Education Director for NE BOCES
Susan Schiebel; Special education advocate, retired educator
Tracy Thompson; Counselor, Evergreen High School
Scott Mendelsberg; Colorado Gear Up
Mark Bell; President, Colorado Association of Career and Technical Education; Assistant Principal, CEC Middle College High School, Denver Public Schools
Kevin Simpson; Student Services Coordinator, Pickens Technical College
Jane Szucs; Instructional Chair of Developmental Education and College Success, Colorado Mountain College, Roaring Fork Campus
Geri Anderson; Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs and Provost for the Colorado Community College System
Judi Diaz Bonacquisti; Associate Vice President for Enrollment, Metropolitan State College of Denver
Lise Youngblade; Professor and Department Head of Human Development and Family Studies, Colorado State University
Jeff Wilhite; Rocky Mountain Academy of Evergreen Board and Member of Business Community
Daniel Jablonsky; Attorney, Brownstien, Hyatt, Farber, Schreck
Bruce Siegel; Vice President North Highland Consulting
Dr. John Sutton; RMC Research, Senior Research Associate
Ryan McCoy; Colorado Council on High School and College Relations
Kim Knous Dolan; Associate Director, Donnell-Kay Foundation
Samantha Long; Colorado Legacy Foundation

Educational Success Task Force Legislative Appointments:
Senator Bacon
Senator Hudak
Senator K. King
Representative Fields
Representative Massey
Representative Holbert


Article Type:

Publish Date: 
Friday, September 2, 2011